Thread: 10th grader...

Default 10th grader...

What history and literature/writing/grammar is your 10th grader using?
    Thank you
    Miranda 20, Cassandra 17, Jonathan 16, Sarah 13, Hannah 11, Rachel 9, Abigail 7, Rebecca 5, Jonah 3, Emma 1

We're using Winterpromise Royals and Revolutionaries for history. I think it's supposed to count as an English credit, too (Heather, is that correct? If not, you could easily make it so by adding on a couple of extra books.). I do know it has a Bible Study section for a "Bible" credit, but we aren't doing that.

For English, I'm teaching a General Lit. class a coop (I was an English teacher), so that's what we're doing for that. My dd LOVES English and History, though, which is why it doesn't bother me to "add" extra onto Winterpromise -- this is HER area, and it's not too much for her. If this were not the case, I'd definitely just do some "add ons" with Winterpromise (i.e., they "suggest" you watch a couple of Shakespeare plays, I'd definitely DO that (we did that last year with history), etc. If you need more info, just ask, and I can give you ideas -- I do think it depends on your child. Like I said, mine LOVES history/English, so adding is nothing for her. If I had a non-Englishy child, I wouldn't add much because they have you reading Dickens and The Scarlet Pimpernil.)

For grammar, she's using Bob Jones 10th grade grammar (I alternate years between Bob Jones and Abeka for grammar for middle and high school).
    Wife to Jim and Mama to Katie (1/01), Mattie (9/02), Cale (4/05), and Ben (8/08)

We used Hewitt's Lightning Literature. We did British Lit, Early to Mid and Mid to Late. For American Literature, we used LLATL, gold book. We also use Easy Grammar. We also did One Year Adventure Novel. My dd did it her 9th grade year, then did it again her 10th grade year.

MOH for history, and Excellence in Literature.