Thread: Just starting with 8 year old, help please

Question Just starting with 8 year old, help please

I'm new to FIAR so trying to plan our upcoming school year. I've spent the past couple years pushing my daughter too hard, out of my own ignorance of a better way to do this, and now she doesn't like school. I want to try this method to get her interested again and make learning fun. My concern is she's at the upper suggested age level and I don't want to not challenge her enough. Many of the lessons in the manual will be super easy for her. My question is to those of you with kids on the upper end of the age range are you keeping it as simple as the manual or should I be doing extras such as the notebook pages, fold&learns and Pinterest? TIA

Hi Jenni! You have a couple of options. I do think you can stick with Vol. 1-3, at least for a year (especially if you already own them). Even if you stick to the manual, many of the lessons aren't as simple as they may appear. For instance, instead of just finding China on a map (as you would with a 5yo), you can read another book about it, watch a video, color a coloring page, make a list of things she learned about China, make a list of what in the book (Ping) is different from how people live in China today, draw/color the flag, etc. So you can expand on the lessons in any way you want, and with a child her age, that could involve writing, making lists, making drawings, studying maps, reading other books, etc. I personally stay away from Pinterest because it's overwhelming and can make many moms feel like they're not doing enough, but that's up to you.

The other option, if you really feel she's too old, is to go with Vol. 4, which covers one year (two weeks on each book). This volume is more detailed and the books are at a higher level, but still picture books. There is WAY more than enough in there to interest an 8yo. I actually used it with my 10yo last year and we both loved it.