Thread: Does anyone tutor other children?

Default Does anyone tutor other children?

I am wondering if anyone here tutors for extra income, and if so, what subjects do you tutor and how much do you charge? (You can PM me if you wish!)

Thanks!
    Livin' on the prairie with special husband and wonderful young lady! (7/00)

I do! I've been tutoring for about seven years now. Most of my students are internationals, so I help them with anything they need, but it's strongly English-based. I have tutored most subjects and ages, but I limit myself on math. I charge $25 / hr.
    Anjie, mom to Laura (22) and Erin (19)
    "Who will I be today: a fool or a teachable sinner?" - Charlie Peacock

Thanks for your reply, Angie!

I was thinking of focusing on our local homeschool population, and particularly in writing/composition. Working with international students is a possibility, too, as we live in a college town and have many foreign students attending.

I'm feeling more and more drawn to this idea... and possibly starting next semester! What would you consider to be important "start up" steps? I have done some research, but right now is a busy time for me and so I'm just playing around with the idea, talking to husband and friends, etc., trying to get a feel for whether this is something I want to do. I already edit for a local author/friend, help some speech and debate students with their material, etc., and have been an editor/proofreader for many years.... but focused tutoring is a big step, and I want to make sure I'm ready for the commitment!

How many hours to you tutor a week? Do you only tutor on specific days (in other words, you set your own schedule?) Thanks for any feedback!

From my experience, you'll need to check out what other tutors in your area charge. If you want to specifically tutor homeschooled students, you might consider charging less than the going rate.